22k player looking for teaching game

Hi all, I’m a dedicated beginner - played for a few weeks now, mostly on 9x9 and feel i’m getting relatively solid on the basic basics. However when moving up to 13x13 or 19x19 board i’m at a loss after the first 25-45 moves. If anybody would like to share their wisdom over a teaching game I’d be very excited! Have been studying and reading up a fair bit but feel theres some fundamental concept I’m missing still.

Thanks for reading!

1 Like

Your best bet is to go to learn-go.net first, and get a teaching game when you get to around 19k. Mostly so you avoid bad advice from ddks trying to teach, and don’t go into the higher ranks with training scars.

2 Likes

Is this common on OGS? I’ve heard a lot of horror stories outside of OGS, but haven’t seen any bad reports yet about bad teaching experiences here. I teach regularly and am a DD Kyu :see_no_evil::hear_no_evil::speak_no_evil:

3 Likes

I’ve seen it a few times.

It’s highly dependent on the capability of the teacher to teach rather than the rank of the teacher, but I wouldn’t advise getting a teaching game from anyone less than 5 ranks above you as ddk.

But the reverse is also an issue. I’ve s even Dan players teach 18ks really poorly and tell them things like “you need to learn these joseki and study these invasions”, and also “learn to count”.

Edit: but if always recommend learning the fundamentals and basics first so that you can ask the appropriate questions, not waste time on things like liberties and territory, and call out the teacher if they make a mistake.

2 Likes

I haven’t had a chance to check out the website yet, but I’ve been following it here on the forum and have skimmed and scanned its content.

Question 1
So, you personally feel that the website will do a better job at preparing a person for “asking the appropriate questions” better, than a live teacher who can answer specific questions the student has during their first games?