Immanuel Devillers - 81 Little Lions - An introduction to the 9x9 board for advanced beginners

Hey everyone. I wrote a book about the 9x9 board, aimed for players around 15 Kyu and stronger.

The PDF will probably be updated several times in the upcoming days, mainly because of feedback and fixing spelling mistakes: Dropbox - 81_little_lions_an_introduction_to_the_9x9_board_for_advanced_beginners.pdf - Simplify your life

I have never written a book before, and there are already a lot of good Go books out there. So I tried to stick to the main topics of the 9x9 board and explain them for all beginners; which is why the book is rather short. I am also aware that books written by amateurs lack the wisdom and experience of any Pro player. I tried to compensate for that by taking most examples out of Pro games.

Nevertheless, I hope you can get some joy out of reading it, or (even better) learn something new. :blush: I really have no idea if there is big value in it, I just wanted to write down my 9x9 knowledge and share it.

I’m happy for any feedback that is sent to me via Mail or PM, and I’ll certainly improve any parts that are unclear!

Cheers,
Immanuel Devillers, M.D. :sunny:

You are free to share the book uncomercially. Future updates will be released via the new OGS Resource page. :blush:

40 Likes

<edit 2019-03-10>

REVISED EDITION (2019)

Please visit this thread:

</edit>

That’s abso-friggin’-lutely awesome, man! Thank you! :heart:

4 Likes

I love it! I might want to ask some questions about your decisions when writing it. At the very start:

1. Did you consult with 15kyu players or test these out on them?
  2. Were there concepts you thought of adding, then decided not to include for some reason?
  3. Are there any concepts in the book that you wish you’d managed to express better in some way?
  4. Did you, during the drafting of the work, restructure the order at any point? Why?
4 Likes

Hey Forensicator! Thanks for the nice words. :blush: