A Single Piece of Advice for a Completely New Player

Hello there,

I just started playing go in these past two days, and I believe I have a good handle on at least the rules of the game. However I find myself making a lot of what are most likely common mistakes, and that is what this topic is for.

I’m sure there are plenty of new players who want advice, myself obviously included. So, what is one piece of advice that you would give to someone who just started. Not necessarily tactical in anyway, just something that you might wish someone told you when you first started to play this game even.

Thanks for reading and I hope I get to see some interesting answers.

((Also, is this in the correct category for the forum? I think it is but I just want to be sure.))

1 Like

Play a lot, don’t let a defeat bother you and try to understand why you play the moves you play.

7 Likes

Hello,
I also have just started, to learn, how to play go. The basic rules apparently are much simpler than those of chess, but the problem is, to understand the many different potential patterns and how to react correctly onto a move of the opponent. Therefore I started with a 9X9 board just to experience quickly a lot of different pattern, playing against a simple go software. Problem with this software but is, that it is too simple. I always win, even if I apparently make severe mistakes and when I play with a human player, I always lose the game. Therefore I started to use the different tutorials on this website, with which one can train the different patterns. Next step will be, to play again with human players and then combine both methods: analyse the game and see, where I made mistakes and then train with the tutorials, to avoid these mistakes. Will take quite some time to get better, but its fun to experience, that one can significantly improve after some time.

1 Like

I’d say …

• Play humans as much as you can*, and