Beginnerest question possible

Hi there!

I just registered on the site and I’m a complete beginner. I played an AI game and really that’s what I plan on doing until I leave the “so-bad-at-Go-it’s-shameful” stage, which honestly could take a number of years…

After a few minutes, I received a couple of e-mail notifs, that a game with me as a participant had started (!!) and subsequently that it had ended. I didn’t see a notification/ invitation or anything, and I don’t want to come across as rude in another similar situation by not responding.

Is there a way to show my profile as “Unavailable for matches” or something, until I decide I’m ready to be whipped by other players?

This may be the notification for the game with the AI.

I think you can disable this in the user settings.

Welcome, @Gia,

please allow me to answer slightly off-topic:

A while ago I have finally entered the SDK (Single Digit Kyu) ranks, after more than a decade (I’m old and entitled to learn very slowly :wink: ), and let me tell you that, IMHO, there is no “so-bad-at-Go-it’s-shameful” stage :slight_smile:

So, I’d recommend playing humans right away, with appropriate handicap, and maybe first on smaller boards like 9x9 and 13x13 … humans are more fun to play, AND they can teach you better (teaching games and reviews).

Good game, have fun!

5 Likes

I don’t think so:

• The username of the AI and the one in the notification are different.
  • In the 2nd notification it says Result: Gia_ + Resignation, game annulled, but I just plain lost to the AI. :slight_smile:

Hi!

Thanks for the encouragement. :slight_smile: (I’m not the freshest rose myself. :-).)

At least until I learn the basics, I’d like to play against AI first, though. Or at least know that I don’t appear available for a match when I might not be.

2 Likes