Chess vs. Go in terms of best move

In chess you often find that in a certain position there are typically one or two best moves. Is that the same way in Go? Or is it more about strategy. Do you analyze the expected next 10 moves and so on?

I am a total newbie, so be gentle…

2 Likes

Prepare yourself for an onslaught… Trying to play the game ahead by as many moves as possible is a very real thing in Go. So much so, you’d want to play far more then just ten moves, which can be very mentally stressing (nice on an UI because you can play forward to your hearts content, but can be very hard to play dozens of moves out on a real board, in your head). With that being said, there may be situations (joseki comes straight to mind) where there are one or two better moves maybe even a best move, but BEST is a hard place to get too at times, depending on the complexity of the board, and could be argued forever.

(Even now, with the advent of AI, we struggle to find what is BEST and what is simply good, acceptable, or comfortable. I love listening to Go commentary because they have such an elegant way of describing the ways you feel during a game. Your moves are not usually good and bad, but rather do you feel good about it? Do you feel confident with the exchange, or with your placement? Or do you feel uneasy, perhaps fearful?)

1 Like

During fights, it is often the case that there is one or two best moves only with the rest leading to a too big a loss.

Otherwise (when no urgent fights are going on) I would say there is often more moves that (according to our current level of knowledge) can be regarded as equally valid.

During endgame best moves can again become more singular and easily identifiable.