Feature request: timeout sounds

I recently played more and more live games on OGS and I found that a relatively large number of these tends to be won/lost by timeout. Far larger than I have experienced on other sites. However, on all the other sites I played the players are warned by some sort of sound to give them one last chance.

On OGS instead, I have lost several games myself, where I had a timesuji prepared already, but got lost on reading another part of the board for so long that the game suddenly was over. From the frequency of timeouts I observe, I can but assume that the same thing happens to my opponents.

I am a bit torn apart though on this feature, as obviously in a real-world tournament we would not have something like this and it is equally fair to demand the removal of such a sound for that reason. So essentially, this is much a feature request as a request for discussion. I have no experience at all on real tournament games, so my judgement may well be off here. Though I have that feeling that in Go the most typical outcome of any game should not be a win by timeout.

Maybe someone can shed more light on this with hard data regarding the relative number of games decided by timeouts on OGS vs other online-sites vs real-world tournament/timed games?

From my current (possibly prejudiced) point of view though, I dearly miss a sort of sound like a countdown of the last byo-yomi seconds, or at least a warning sound 3 seconds before the period ends.

Hm, we do have count down times, and 3 second beeps before each period ends… I take it these aren’t working for you? (Probably silly question but is your sound enabled under settings?)

Oh… interesting. Are they enabled/disabled independently from the stone sounds maybe? I’ve been playing these games on my Nexus 10 and I heard the move sounds just fine.

honestly, 3 seconds isn’t enough to keep the per-turn timer aware, and tends to induce panic.