Fractional Go Game 5

The stones are not captured because all of their chains have liberties. I’ve indicated the relevant chains in the following images (with the color corresponding to the chain).

3 Likes

Wait, are points scored based on whether the territory is controlled by black/white, or the other colours?

1 Like

Points are Black vs White. But life and death is about every color fighting for itself.

So for example if Green falls to make enough eyes on the bottom, the green stones will eventually get removed, and that will affect the points for White and Black in some way, maybe related to whether Black or White is better positioned to move into the resulting vacuum.

3 Likes

That’s alright then, I was worried I had misunderstood how this works

2 Likes

Round 6

@PRHG

and @benjito collide at H7.

Game link

1 Like

@Feijoa

gets the first capture!

1 Like

Round 7

@benjito

and @PRHG collide at H6.

@Sadaharu

and @martin3141 collide at E4 (capturing a red chain at F4).

Game link

2 Likes

Round 8

@Sadaharu

collides with @Tschej at D4.

@Feijoa

captures the blue chain at D6. @PRHG captures the green chain at H5.

Reminder @benjito

1 Like

Round 9

@Sadaharu

plays a throw-in at D6.

Game link

4 Likes

If black plays B3 and B4, we capture. And additionally the top left wont be able to life as well, can that be true?

1 Like

I agree. Green-white could play B4 to try to resist but I think we can continue pressing the attack and eventually succeed.

Your C2 is vulnerable so you might want to consider B2 instead. Or if it gets captured later, I can play C2 the next round to prevent a permanent connection.

2 Likes

If we play B3, B4, GreenWhite can not resist with B4 this turn due to the capture rules, no?
Once captured, my C2 stone is also (almost) save. If they want to capture it this turn, its slow I guess. Or maybe I miss something? Totally possible. That we are in this (imo) good position is purely your guys doing. Wp. I have no idea what Im doing. xD

1 Like

If Green-White collides with us at, say, B3 they will not be captured, since the white chain will have a liberty at A3, for example.

2 Likes

Ahh. Thank you.
I thought we’d capture no matter what since that would be an ‘old’ chain. But that rule only applies when it comes to multiple captures. Youre right, white can resist!
Me playing B2 makes a lot sense ^^

1 Like

Reminder @PRHG

Whoops, sorry!

Why didn’t D6 on move 9 count as suicide?

1 Like

Self-capture is allowed.

1 Like

Round 10

@Feijoa

and @martin3141 collide at B4.

Game link

2 Likes

Reminder @Tschej @benjito

2 Likes