Game parameters [quick newbie question]

sooo I just finished my thesis… and I’ll have some free time for playing against actual people.
I will be creating challenges named something like “losing n/100” for anyone who feels like playing.
BUT
I’m completely new to on-line playing so I wanted to ask if these settings are reasonable for my first “100 losses”:

• Rules: Japanese
  • Game Speed: Live (or correspondence if I get busy and won’t be able to play a complete game in one sitting)
  • Time Control: Byo-Yomi (main time: 15min, time period: 1min30s)
  • No handicap, automatic komi
  • my color: Automatic

Thanks!!

PS - I’ve only played against bots and 1 friend that “I’m teaching” (dragging along my learning path :joy:), but we learn a lot trying all sorts of variations and checking many many moves ahead.
I’ve also been watching a lot of go lessons (mostly Nick Sibicky, In Sente, Yeonwoo, dwyrin…) and reading a few books, so I hope I’m not completely dull to play against

5 Likes

I would maybe just chose Chinese rules over Japanese because in case of complication, it will be easier. But that’s on case of, for very few times.

Besides it’s all good to me and sure if you did already all what you say, it’s impressive, players will be delighted to play with you

Welcome and have fun on OGS!

1 Like

I recommend:

1. Chinese rules, because you can fill your territory without penalty, something that unskilled players often do inadvertently.

2. 30- to 60-second overtime period, because 90 seconds a move, plus main time, could lead to long games.

Hope you have fun!

2 Likes

Ah yes 90s… If you want a relaxed time you can chose Fisher time 3mn main then 1mn increment to max 3mn.

Relaxed time are cool to me but you should consider that it can make harder to get a game because:

• Short time avoids the use of analyse tool and bots (last one being completely out of the law ofc)

• Lot of players in live come to play less seriously online and prefer to play quicker