Game vs. Computer doesn't start

Hi Folks,

great to be here!

I am new to the world of Go, so I would like to start by playing 9x9 against a computer. Whenever I want to start a game, it just doesn’t. It just keeps saying “waiting for the game to start” or sth like this. (My version is in german) But then it never starts! Doesn’t matter what configurations I take. (If i take Black or go on automatic). I tried on different PCs.

What can I do?

Any help will be appreciated, I want to play! :slight_smile:

Cheers from munich,

Franz

1 Like

I might be wrong, but I remember that there are some issues with Go Bots on OGS, so they are “turned off”, that’s why the games just stay hung once you open them…

1 Like

Hi there,

thanks for the answer. Do you know, if I can turn the bots back on? Or is this sth an admin has to do?
I don’t want to challenge better players and bore them. :slight_smile: And I don’t want to switch to another Go-site. This one seems really cool. :wink:

This site IS cool :smiley: but I think bots are being turned off sitewide by admins. I don’t think there is a way for users to turn them on…

If your main concern is just not to be a “bother” to stronger player… well, you’ll find out that most players are welcoming games with lower ranked players to help them improve. :slight_smile:

You can go to the chat or open a new thread here in the forum, and ask for teaching games. You will find someone in no time. I can play with you myself (but I can accept only correspondence games).

Otherwise, you can simply create a new open challenge, adjust the max accepted ranking and wait for an opponent. There are a lot of players around your ranking that are only waiting for someone to play with. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Also, that’s why Handicap exists … http://senseis.xmp.net/?Handicap