Have you ever felt your brain is not big enough?

What a fascinating game Go is!

I started learning Go about two months ago, then felt pretty good about myself - I always feel I’m relatively above the average IQ level… until I discovered how deep the knowledge is and how big the Go world is. Then I started being defeated again and and again on various levels and had to look into the fundamentals. Then…

I realized my brain is not big enough. A simple joseki requires every move to be precise. To elaborate: if I go this, he goes this, I go this… It does not work. Then I go this, he goes this… Every move is like that and there is a tremendous amount of calculation, or “reading”. No wonder AI wins - it’s all brute force.

I felt so bad and felt so humble that I almost quit the game. I feel my brain is so small that I couldn’t even advance above the average level. I could spend 5 minutes trying to figure out if this ladder work or not, but I may never be able to calculate every move in the Avalanche joseki variation. As I said, I never felt I’m a dumb guy until I met the game of Go.

Have you ever felt this way? How do you enjoy playing knowing that you are so incomplete in knowledge:)

5 Likes

I enjoy the braintickle. I mean, I needn’t be a professional singer to enjoy singing a song, I needn’t be an athlete to enjoy moving my body, etc. :slight_smile:

But yes, I understand what you mean: even before those strong AIs appeared, I had to realise I’ll never get very far in Go. I mean, even reaching Shodan in this life is not sure for me. But also not that important meanwhile … I’m in it for the fun and the process, not for making it a chore.

8 Likes

If you want to feel as if your brain spanned the entire universe, there are some ways to accomplish that for a brief period of time…

12 Likes

New bots on neural net able to beat dans with 0 simulations. You can play moves purely on intuition too. Go is like drawing a picture.

6 Likes