Infiltrating 4-4 with 3-3

Hello,

first time poster and beginner here. I have a basic question:

Let’s assume my opponent played on the 4-4 point. I’ve read in various places that this move is susceptible to invasion with 3-3.

Now assuming I don’t have any other stones in the area to assist me, will my stone at 3-3 survive with best play from both sides? Is this a recommended move, assuming all other corners are already parceled out?

Thanks!
Kavau

2 Likes

Hello @kavau, and welcome!

I’m still a weak player, but I think, given that there are no other opponent’s stones around when you put your stone under their 4-4 stone, your invader should live, either small in the corner, or bigger with half of the corner and part of one side.

See http://senseis.xmp.net/?33PointInvasion for more.

HTH, Tom

5 Likes

Hello, @kavau!

The lore I have assimilated is as you suggest. An opponent can play under a hoshi stone on a 3-3 and live (almost whenever). However, if there are no other friendly stones nearby, the 3-3 invasion can be detrimental since it exchanges a tremendous influence for some (although not negligible) territory.

The key for a beginner such as ourselves is to try to weigh an outside influence against an inside territory.

Your question is open, because there’s a gazillion ways the corners can be “parceled out” depending on a strategy involved and corresponding josekis.

Explore @trohde’s link and maybe my humble review of one of my games starting with move 25 and ending with move 86.

3 Likes

another key point about the 3-3 is that invasions end in sente for the invader.

so, because of the influence issue, its almost never a good idea to play
the 3-3 right away, but in the midgame, its often a risk-free invasion that
somehow i never remember to play

3 Likes