Is it normal?

Hi there!
I’m new at Go player. Now that I’ve play 10+ games (25k) and start understanding strategy and moves, I realized that begginers tends to attack and capture stones as a priority rather than expand territory as higher Kyu ranked players do.

Did you feel the same or had the same attitude when you started playing this amazing game?
Share your thoughts!

2 Likes

Of course. Being short sighted is a hallmark of beginners in almost every field.

1 Like

I think that it is a sign of weak understanding how people learn if someone calls this short-sighted or not normal.

This Christmas, I let my two young nephews play a go game against each other. They took great joy in capturing each other’s stones and yet, they overlooked more than half of the many ataris on the board. It is a necessary step of learning that you start to see them and act on them even if it means that other aspects of the game are neglected (and may even get worse for a time).

When children learn their language, they usually learn the irregular forms of the most common words first (be, have, go). When their brain finally automatizes the general rules of forming the past tense, they start to say the common words that they already knew wrong. This is not a backslide, this is how a neural net learns.

2 Likes

Yes, it is completely normal.
To quote a famous Go book, “Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go” by Kageyama:

After you have learned the rules, your first step should be just to play for a while, and by ‘a while’ I am not referring to any length of time, but rather a number of games, say fifty or a hundred. During this period, if you see an enemy stone, try to capture it, try to cut it off. If you see a friendly stone, try to save it from capture, try to connect it. Concentrate on this alone as you build up some practical experience.

2 Likes

thanks!