Make different categories start ranking on first game

Hi everyone,

I started playing here fairly recently, and my ranks are at:

16k Overall
17k Live
19k Blitz
25k Correspondence

I have been trying to start some correspondence games over the last day and it seems difficult to get them going, although I finally have managed. I think part of it is just that there are not as many of them and the turnover is slower, but I think another part is my rank. Anyone who plays me will see their correspondence rank drop. I have had a few games accepted and then quit and I think this is part of the reason.

When you think about it, it makes sense from their point of view. If that person cares about rank then it is not beneficial to play me at 25k when I am clearly stronger than that. This problem would be even worse if I waited longer to start playing correspondence.

I wonder if it would make sense to work out your starting rank for a particular category the first time you play in that category, rather than on sign-up. So, say you sign up at 25k and play 200 live games going up to 15k, then you play your first blitz game, your blitz rank would start at 15k.

Thoughts?

Practically speaking, a mod will in all likelihood see this and manually adjust your correspondence rating, but as a general solution what you say seems like a good suggestion. Also, you could just play correspondence vs a few ranks above your correspondence rank until said rank increased.

I’ve found a uservoice post requesting a change to the ranking system. I think If we get enough people to vote, there’ll have to be some change. I’ve commented on it how I think the ranking system should be implemented, basically cross-weighing the different time controls because they are still correlated, and also giving stats on different board sizes (including the larger and smaller square board sizes that aren’t currently ranked).