On a downward spiral and need help

I’ve played Go off and on for a few years. Whenever life gets in the way, it takes me a bit to find my way back to go consistently, which has stalled my progress.

I started playing again and after getting back into the swing of things, I’m on a horrible downward spiral. Losing games before they’ve even really begun and have seen my ranking sink horribly from 16k to 22k in a matter of days.

Looking for someone who can help me reset myself and get back on the proper path.

Thanks!

1 Like

I recommend Dwyrin’s “Back to basics” video series.

Listen to what he says, watch as he does it. Hear it while you are playing, and apply it.

It’s working for me :smiley:

@GreenAsJade Thank you! Is that on youtube?

Yep - here is the first one:

Note that Dwyrin was developing with this style of teaching from “the idea” - the first video is indeed his first attempt at it, and he refines it as he goes along. They definitely get “smoother” as you go along - in the first couple he’s still finding his feet on the topic, and justifying himself to the skeptical chat crowd.

But I think even the first ones are good and worthwhile. Each one has something to teach us :slight_smile:

Having watched most (all?) of them, and read the comments, a common response to Dwyrin winning while obeying his basic principles is “oh, but you Dwyrin can succeed this way because you have tons of experience and are phenomenal at reading. But I don’t have that experience and I’m no good at reading, so this won’t work for me”.

Even I felt like that at first.

What this fails to realise is that while it is true - Dwyrin can beat 1Dans doing this, and surely we can’t - it doesn’t detract from the usefulness of the teaching.

At our level of experience, if we apply what he’s teaching, we can do well against people with our level of expertise.