Question About How Ladders Function

Hello all!

Recently I have decided to start participating in ladders (and quite a few at that), but I am having trouble understanding some of the features behind them. Most of these questions will be answered with experience in the ladders, but I have one specific question to ask: Suppose I was #50 in the ladder and I were to beat #40. Would I automatically slide to #39 in the ladder or do I have to play and beat everyone in between #50 and #40. Probably a pretty obvious question but thank you for your time and help with me on this one!

Thanks sincerely,
“GoBoard” (@_GoBoard)

I’m no expert on ladders but I am quite sure that in order to become #39 you’d have to beat the current #39, not the current #40.

I’m also quite sure that by transitive property, beating #x-y implies you’d also have beaten #x, therefore you only have to beat one person.

2 Likes

We have documentation for the ladder. Maybe that will answer some of your not written questions.

3 Likes

Thank you @smurph, In that case I don’t have to challenge everyone in the large ladders :joy: like I have been doing.

1 Like

Thank you @flovo, I will read through that.

On the up side… all those extra games is good for you XD.

3 Likes

The people you can challenge are highlighted. This induce you don’t have to go 1 by 1. If you win one you take his place and everyone below (with him included) lose 1 place

2 Likes

Yes, good for the practice!!

1 Like

Thank you for the verification, @violaine, as soon as I finish my current ladder games I will begin going that route instead of one by one!

1 Like

My experience with the ladder so far is that you keep going up just by not timing out. :stuck_out_tongue:
When I reach a high enough level, I’ll probably have to start wining some actual games.

1 Like

You were unlucky as this is not my experience at all

1 Like