Question regarding learning to play

Hi everyone, im new here…like very new, and learning the game currently.

Firstly years ago I had an interest in Go and hence had a nice Go game board shipped up here to Ontario where i live(since there are no clubs anywhere near me and NOONE here seems to know Go!).

The game sadly had the worst written instructions of all time. Regardless a friend and I ‘tried’ to play a full game. The only REAL game ive ever played with it. It lead to a head scratching question which i will now ask:

“When do you KNOW a game is over?”

A book I bought on ‘learning to play Go’ stated in a descriptive example pic of how there are “no places on the board where territory can be reduced or enlarged”…but at this point my friend had (what seemed to me at the time) a good point: why not put stones within the opponents claimed territory to REDUCE their area? Or in other words deny them points.

I guess since I have no experience in the game that sounds reasonable. Maybe theres a respect thing here Im not aware of in knowing when to stop, thus I have read countless (seriously) Go sites rules and watched a handful of instructional videos…im still confused on when you know its time to stop and Id like to ask you people for clarification. Thank you in advance.

You can play in the opponent’s area, but that stone can be taken. This is an even result. Any play that requires a response in the same territory has no effect on the final outcome. This is because all stones that are not alive at the end of the game are removed and are counted at the end of the game (territory scoring), or don’t count at all (area scoring).

If play is made that does not require a response, this is a benefit to the player not responding.

The key to the game is knowing what is alive and when a response is required.

The game is over when there is nothing one can do to advance their own cause. The beginner may not know when that point arrives.