Review req: I feel so bad about my go skills, need help badly

So I have been playing go for a few months now in real life and on here on and off. Recently I played against a 2kyu player and even though obviously i lost he told me he felt that by the way i played he thought i was closer to a 10-12 kyu player than 23 kyu…

Fast forward to now I have played a bunch of games on here and lost every single one of them against various ranked players (mostly 20+ kyu though) and its not even close, I mean I am getting destroyed pretty much and i don’t know WHY.

I would like someone to review this game and give advice on what are really crucial mistakes because i just feel so demotivated right now that after reading SO much go related books (beginner books) and doing tsumego exercises I just do not seem to progress at all.

Link to the game: https://online-go.com/game/3793314

Thanks to anyone willing to take a look at it!

Here is a review. https://online-go.com/review/102833
Try to avoid bad shapes like empty triangles. Also you don’t have to save every stone and try to keep your groups connected and your opponents groups disconnected

2 Likes

Thank you for your review, it was quite helpful!

I am in a similar situation. I love the game, have played quite a few games, studied some tsumego and several books, and I think I’m moderately bright in general, but I also get creamed an awful lot of the time. I wonder if there’s a specific aspect of the game that I don’t even realize I’m missing, and that is obvious to the people who make steadier progress. For now, I propose to myself that I keep enjoying the ways that Go seems to be a very flexible metaphor and a seed for lots of reflections, and take for granted that if I’m content to go slow for a time, I will go faster eventually. Best,

1 Like

There’s an old saying that you should lose your first 50 games as quickly as possible.