Review Request: 11k v 15k

Hi, I’d really appreciate a review of the following game.

I started playing go in mid September last year and after losing a ton of games this was one of the first correspondence games I started once I felt I had some idea of what was going on. I was about 22/23k when the game started and I’ve improved a lot since then and I can see some really obvious mistakes especially early in the game but for much of the game I was very unclear on if I had caught up or if I was still way behind.

My opponent is 20k now but was 15k recently and just resigned a bunch of games. I won the game, but I think my opponent resigned too early. In the final position I am not even sure I am ahead. As far as I can tell he has sente and can give up on the top left and try to take a bunch of the bottom and the game could be quite close. I know it’s generally better to request a review of a game you lost but I feel like this was a complicated game with lots for me to learn from.

No time for a full review but I’ve posted a few comments. If I was playing someone my level in this position, I’m not sure I could win. If I considered my opponent to be 10 stones stronger, I’m pretty sure I couldn’t.

Of course if it was me I would fight it out, but w has a pretty solid lead and no weak groups.

I’ll drop by later to see if someone else has reviewed the game. Top right for example you could’ve killed b early already…

1 Like

I’ve added a review: https://online-go.com/review/298455

The game basically revolved around a few huge fights, and your opponent made more mistakes than you did. I think losing the dragon on the left, while letting you save your middle group, more or less lost the game.