Review request 19k vs 17k

Hello. I started playing 1.5 monthes ago, and so far i am playing rather intuitively, so any comment woud be appriciated. I played ~200 games, almost all of them were 9x9, so 19x19 is new for me.12336387-264-oceandencens-ИльяБроннер.sgf (2.1 KB)

As far as i can tell, my first mistake is somewhere near 55-60 moves, when i started loosing center, but after that i can not specify the mistakes, i can just see, that i started loosing all the whole game. So self reviewing is another skill to learn.

I believe the ogs link is: https://online-go.com/game/12336387 for anyone who doesn’t want to download the game.

Here’s a review:

Your first mistake was on move 5: don’t attach to weak stones! In general, you spend too much time trying to attack, and not enough time securing your stones or making territory. Think about which of your groups are alive or not, and if there’s any in the “not” category, attending to them should be your first priority.

You ended up losing the game mostly because you lost the big group on the bottom, which had numerous chances to live. Your opponent won by 52.5 points, and I’m counting 25 stones plus three points of territory that’d have been yours instead of your opponent’s, which comes out to 56 points on its own. If you just do a better job of paying attention to whether your groups are alive, you could easily gain a few stones in strength.

2 Likes

Are you sure? A 3-4 point does not seem “weak” within the meaning of the proverb. (Try attacking one. It’s pretty hard.) If a 3-4 point by itself is really “strong,” it makes some sense to attach and lean against that strength. (Visit https://alphagoteach.deepmind.com and play a 3-4 point–attaching actually gives a better win rate than normal approaches. See also Josekipedia, listing attachment as joseki.)

2 Likes

I guess basically any approach in the opening will see some sort of response, so attaching won’t provoke your opponent into strengthening, in that regard.