Review Request 19x19 21k vs 19k

Hi,

I’m very new to Go and this is my first review request.
I’ve played my 4th game against human and i did really really bad.
It was a handicap game (I’m the 19k) and i know i played under stress and without structure or plan.

I know I have several dozens mistakes in this game, to start with, continuing the game even when realizing after the first 30-40 moves that i was not at my best.

Anyhow, could someone please give me the biggest takeaway of this game so i can start focusing on a topic to improve?

There are too many for me now as a beginner so, a hint of where to focus my current attention would be good (improving opening, not invading so fast, learn how to defend against an attack, learn to live… whatever it is).

Thanks

Hi paletochen, it’s great to see your enthusiasm is driving you to ask for help to try to improve. If I have time tomorrow I will try to make a review. But, I think the most important thing at your level is to keep playing games and try not to worry about losing. We have a saying that you should try to play your first 50 to 100 games as quickly as possible (actually, the proverb is sometimes stated as to lose your first 50 games as quickly as possible!). You will learn a lot instinctively from those games based on what works and what doesn’t that is hard to put into words and will serve as a good basis for studying the things you mention. It sounds like you may have played more than four games against bots, but I find that playing against people instead of computers leads to faster improvement because you are more likely to think carefully about your moves.

1 Like

Thanks mikemc,

I was hesitant to ask for a review of this game as I feel the number of mistakes is too big but, i also read often that the best way to improve is to review your own lost games to avoid making the same mistakes again.

I guess, based on your answer, that it may be still too early for me to do that, right?