Review request, 23k 9x9

Hi, I’m somewhat new to the game - I had a false start with it some years ago, but never went above 20k or so; got discouraged very quickly after epic failures on the 19x19 board, due to inability to fight and bad reading (I felt reluctant to play 9x9, for some stupid reason, and thus avoided the games that could have helped me to get better).

This time, however, I’m going to stick with it, and with that in mind, trying to correct the errors of my first approach, I’m concentrating on playing almost only 9x9 games for now, so I would appreciate any tips on the two following games, which I’ve lost.

Move 35 in this first game is a good and embarrassing example of bad, or to be more precise, inexistent reading.

For this second one I’ve made a “review” myself, in which I mostly speculate on how I could have killed White’s bottom right group. As a beginner, I’m not sure if my variations are correct or aren’t but wishful thinking, so I’d like if any reviewer talked about that point.

One of the things that trip me up when playing 9x9 is how to prevent the opponent from pushing me around, reducing my territory. I have the feeling that, even if I play Black and start close to the center, in the end I see myself restricted to 1/3 of the board, not knowing how it happened. I think I’ve avoided that in the two games linked, but alas, I’m not clear as what exactly I did that was responsible for that. Anyway, a few general comments about this topic would help me greatly, I guess.

Thanks and sorry for the amount of questions.

1 Like

Hi,

Added a review on second game here: https://online-go.com/review/274521

Only nominally 9kyu and in reality I think weaker, so some of my points are a bit tentative. You got into some pretty complicated fights!