Shouldn't komi for smaller board sizes be higher?

On smaller boards, black’s first move has a much bigger advantage compared to 19 x 19. Logically speaking, komi should be highest on 9 x 9 boards. Although it FEELS to me like 13 x 13 should have the highest. But I think I might just be really bad at 13 x 13. :slight_smile:

Thoughts on this?

1 Like

Also, are there any statistics on how many OGS games of a certain board size are won by black?

1 Like

I’m still a novice, but it seems to me that since the end score total is lowest on 9x9 boards, the effect of a normal komi on deciding the winner will be much higher than on 19x19, even if they are the same amount.

2 Likes

This has been discussed many times before on this forum (and I’m guessing every other go forum as well).

There is no simple answer here as there are so many factors.

Komi on smaller board sizes is a larger percentage of total available points. Likewise, each stone on smaller board sizes imparts much more influence on the whole board, thus getting the first move also has more value.

People will argue that one is more valuable than the other, but it’s not so simple to figure out for a variety of reasons.

Traditionally (though not always) the stronger player plays with white. Often the game is won or lost by more than the value of komi and even in the games won by small margins, slow moves and blunders almost always count for more than the value of komi regardless of the strength of the players.

It is obvious that regardless of the size of the board, black gets an advantage by going first. But trying to put an exact number on that advantage is an answer we still do not have clear sight of.

3 Likes

A very fair, judicious summation. Bravo!

1 Like

I think the only thing to add to BHyden’s summary is that while we can’t say for sure that the current komi is “perfect”, it is the best that everyone has been able to come up with.