Simultaneous moves?

Hello, I’m new to GO, so I’m not sure if rules like that exist (simply not Chinese). I thought it would be a bit more fair to let both players decide their moves independently, submit and then if they decided the same move half of times goes one, half goes the other (can start with black). The one that couldn’t move where he wanted get additional time to plan his response. The idea came to me, when I had to play white for the first time and realised that it’s quite a different game (I was playing 9x9). I think it would be more fair and could make strategy even more interesting (by planning when you have the advantage of the “first move” (especially ko fights)). As I said I’m new to GO, so I’m not sure whether something like this exists and I don’t know about it or whether it could be something new. Anyway I would like to know your thoughts :smile:

There is a Go proverb that goes “My opponents good move is my good move,” so people would be choosing the same point a lot. And it would add an element of luck to the game, when no luck is supposed to be involved whatsoever. Extra time on the clock is not going to make up for a stone on a desirable point being the wrong color. Instead W gets compensation for going second, which I think is fair. I also pondered the idea of B plays 1 stone, W plays 2, B plays 2, W plays 2, etc. in order to eliminate the first move advantage completely. However because playing one at a time has become so standard, it would be like eliminating the tackle from (American) football, adding or subtracting a base from baseball, or removing the space behind the goal from hockey; it would not catch on.

However there are many interesting variants of Go that people play for fun, which you can read about at http://senseis.xmp.net/?Variants. My personal favorite is lottery go, where the stone you play is usually your own color.

2 Likes