Why does white have to play at a in order to get two eyes there?

Hi there. Absolute beginner question. I’m reading Cho Chikun’s ‘Go a Complete Introduction to the Game’, chapter 3, page 26. It’s in a section introducing false eyes.

At the point in the narrated example game where I’m puzzled, the text explains “When black plays 19 in FIgure 3 (which is not the image I’m including here), the white group is confined to the upper right corner, so White must play 20 [at a] in order to get two eyes there.”

I feel this is an important point to grasp, but I’m not seeing it. Why must White play at a?

Image-1

Thank you in anticipation,

David

1 Like

I’m not going to answer your question, but I hope that my reply might at least be a consolation. :slight_smile:
I’m not an absolute beginner, 8k at the moment. Seeing this diagram I can see immediately that white is in trouble and intuitively the spot a looks like a good candidate to me. Directly right of a also looks tempting. I’d have a fair chance of getting it right in a game, but I can’t see directly that this is the only move that works. So asking a beginner to see that is a bit much. Once you do a bunch of tsumego you will build some intuition for such situations.

It will be interesting to see if some stronger player can give an explanation why a is the only move in a way that a beginner can understand.

1 Like

The turn at A for white is a pretty common shape to have to make in order make the corner live. ‘A’ is a key point because if you flip this problem around, and it’s blacks turn to play. The ‘clamp’ tesuji at A becomes a real problem for white.

2 Likes

Because if black gets to play there first the corner dies.

Why does white need to play in the corner? Because otherwise, black will kill the whole group in the next move.

The vital point of the position is at a (as @_oopsImStoned pointed out).