Odd Cases 🤔 in the Japanese Rules

In the recent weeks, there has been significant discussion about the Japanese across several new threads. I just wanted to make a note of them here.

  1. Is an unfinished Ko worth a point in Japanese scoring? asked about the status of ko left unresolved at the end of the game, in a manner that mirrored historic rules disputes that predated and likely influenced the 1989 version of the Japanese rules.

  2. Interesting double/potential triple ko(/seki ?)! brought up a case of a self-contained moonshine life position occurring in a 9x9 game.

  3. Is white alive under Japanese rules? discussed technical aspects about life and death determination, particularly the concept of the “enables clause”.