A problem I had with scoring this game

Yesterday I played this game, and in my last move, just before my opponent passed, the Estimator said I was winning by 0.5 points (it still says so). But then, when the game was finished, it said that my opponent (White) won by 1.5 points. I also counted it manually, and if I’m not mistaken, I really am supposed to win by 0.5 points.

Can someone help me with that? I’m new to Go, so I’m not 100% sure I counted correctly, but I did my best.

Also, this is not the first time the Estimator and the endgame say different scores. How come? Is one Chinese and one Japanese, or something?

https://online-go.com/game/18221117

1 Like

Hello, I can confirm that you counted correctly. The estimator uses area scoring (Chinese rules), which is more computer friendly but can produce a conflicting result in close games that use a territory scoring ruleset. Sorry for the confusion.

2 Likes

The difference comes from
1 point for black played the last move and
1 point for black filling 1 dame after white passed.

1 Like

Aren’t they the same?

Only if

• white played the last move,
  • no player passed and
  • there are no eyes in Seki.

Im not sure if handicap stones are compensated in Chinese rules.

1 Like

I think they get either half or full point compensation, but yes that is taken into account.

To expand on the most notable differences:
In Japanese rules:

• Only empty surrounded space (territory) counts for a point each
  • Every prisoner (and opponent’s dead stone that remained in your territory) gets you a point

In Chinese rules

• Both the surrounded spaces as well as the stones surrounding them count for a point each
  • There are no extra points for prisoners
  • Generally they give an extra point for a komi

A pretty good comparison of different rulesets is here:
http://www.britgo.org/rules/compare.html