API retrieval of games

Hello,

This is related to the humble beginnings of my project at http://racetam.com/lzproblems/ where I generate random whole-board “go problems” taken from games on OGS (in a way inspired by the lichess.org puzzles).

Basically I want to retrieve games/lists of games according to certain parameters. I am not a web developer and so I’m very confused about how this is supposed to work. These questions are related to the /api/v1/games/ address:

1. Where can I find the “logic” of the retrieval query parameters documented properly?
  1. For example: are there other non-field query parameters other than ordering that can be used? Is there some support for including logic or simple expressions?
  2. … and what are all those __isnull, __gt, etc. Where are they all documented. I know they are on Django’s QuerySet page, but I assume that is documentation for the backend developers (you), not for someone like me who just wants to build a query URL. Because there are discrepancies, for example:
  3. I couldn’t get name__contains=... to work, yet name__icontains=... works. Why?
    name__contains=X => “Game has no field named contains” (confusing error message)
    name__icontains=X => { … games with x in title … }
  4. How do I do a “not-equals” match, for example outcome__notequals=Timeout.
  5. Is there expression support, can I somehow “split” the outcome field so I can match on the points alone (let’s say I want a list of games that were won by >20 points).

Basically I want to know how much of my logic can be offloaded into query parameters without having to do my own filtering/transforms after requesting/downloading dozens and dozens of pages…