Are old ratings accurate?

So, I have been playing on OGS since May 2014, and according to my rating graph (as seen on my profile yebellz), I peaked in rank on January 15, 2015 reaching 1.9 kyu ± 0.9

Since then, it would seem that I have taken a slight decline, down to my current level of 5.5 kyu ± 0.9.

However, if I look at my games from that January 2015 era, I see that I was actually around 10 kyu. In fact, for the game where I achieved my apparent peak, I see from the chat log that OGS had ranked me at 12 kyu at the beginning of that game (Sept 2014), and I was 10 kyu by the end. I believe that around 10 kyu (or weaker) is actually a more accurate rating for me in January 2015. Note: I had also briefly changed my name to “YeGo” but then later back to “yebellz”.

I understand that the ratings system has been updated several times since back then, each time with aim of improving its accuracy and calibration, and that typically old ratings are essentially recalculated from scratch for each of these updates, which has the effect of revising old ratings.

Does this revision procedure end up making the ranking history less meaningful? Are historical ranking inflated as a result?

6 Likes

No

3 Likes

I would be cautious with rating evolution because it seems that new rating is more accurate around 1d as for sdk (and even worse ddk)

The evolution should still be correct but your old ranks could be inflated by their recalculation

1 Like

Yes

I already pointed that out in the forum: according to my actual history, I’ve never been DDK and started my go journey directly from 9k.
That’s silly.

My actual OGS rank is about 5k, which is also hard to believe. But I can stand with the choice of having a ranking system which is independent from others: I am 9k on EGD (also due to recalculation, since OGS isn’t the only one to do such things) and I can live with it. On OGS I’ll look for 5k and irl I’ll look for 9k to have an even game. That’s fine.