Author looking to generate a weiqi/go game for book (paid)

***UPDATE–thanks to the help of everyone, especially in explaining how difficult it would be to recreate ancient play styles, I’m going to take a closer look at the fan vs shi game that @Vsotvep linked at this time! thank you again for everyone’s help and generosity of time ;~; ***

Hi! I’m an author of children’s books working on a reimagining of the chinese classic, 3kingdoms, and I’m looking to generate an image of a game that the characters play. my knowledge of go is pretty limited, so please forgive any mistakes in the following description (am open to discussion and correcting them!), but to describe the game board image I’m looking for:

• white would start (this was traditional in the han dynasty, around which my book is set**)
  • both players are intermediary to advanced
  • the game would need to be played roughly to mid or after, say ~75%. it cannot be a game where it’s overly obvious that one side is winning and would therefore justify an early surrender
  • the 75% mark is flexible, because the game would need to be played to a point where an advanced player can forecast that they’re about to win, and by a margin of 4 points (or X points–the idea is that they have a good grasp on the specific margin, and it’s slimmer than what they are accustomed to, as they think highly of their skill level)

**the book itself is historical fantasy and set in an AU time that’s similar to the han dynasty, but because it’s not strictly historical, the game play need not strictly follow methods of ancient play (beyond the detail of white starting first)

can provide more details and we can chat if you’re interested! I’d pay for your time and am happy to discuss quotes (as I’m not familiar with how long generating this game would take). thank you so much for considering this!

4 Likes