Average Age on OGS

I’m really curious about what the average age on OGS is. Poll is anonymous, but feel free to share your story about how long you’ve been playing and how you got into the game if you like.

• Younger than 20
  • 20 - 30
  • 30 - 40
  • 40 - 50
  • 50 - 60
  • 60 - 70
  • Older than 70

0 voters

9 Likes

i was just under twenty when i read hikaru no go and first learned of the game. after a hiatus i picked it up again a bit later. for most of my active go playing career on ogs ive been over thirty now :slight_smile:.

edit: ill be 32 soon.

6 Likes

My entire Go life has happened within the span of 1 year. I began it at 37 and am now 38 :smirk:. In fact, today is my one year anniversary of beginning Go :blush:

19 Likes

well congratulations! :grin: :beers:

4 Likes

Happy anniversary! Thats awesome! :partying_face:

4 Likes

I just started playing back in August of this year. I moved to China at age 24 to teach English and lived there for 5 years. I met my husband there, and we moved to Chicago a couple years ago.

Funny thing is I never once saw or heard anything about Go in the time I was living in China. I mean, I’d heard of it before but not there, but because I didn’t know anyone who played I never really thought to try it. I became interested after AlphaGo but forgot about it until I saw it in a show that I was watching.

Edit: I’m 31 now, btw :slightly_smiling_face:

6 Likes

Curious to see how this lines up with what google analytics thinks, which is

18-24: 23.9%
25-34: 41.0%
35-44: 15.3%
45-54: 9.7%
55-64: 5.4%
65+: 4.5%

14 Likes

A slight problem might be that the bins overlap between the two. As in 25-34 overlaps with both 20-30 and 30-40

3 Likes

That is extremely cool. Both traveling to China to teach English, meeting your husband, and the show finally being the tipping point for establishing an interest in Go. What about it’s appearance or feature in the show got you to try it that time around?

1 Like