Beginner having trouble winning 9x9 as white

So im a beginner, been playing 3 or 4 games everyday, and its the same for both of us, whoever plays black wins, and white is completely led around,my question is why ? is the komi really enough to make up for the 1st move advantage ? and how can i avoid it, i understand that you’re supposed to predict your opponent, but even with that, i just dont see how the game is fair to the white pieces.

thanks in advance

1 Like

I will assume you are talking about 9x9 as you do not seem to be playing on the big board yet.

The question of komi is a common one and indeed we (as the whole go community) are not totally sure what it is supposed to be (as apparent by quite recent changes), but we are talking like one point difference (which is rarely an issue in amateur games)

To be honest I often see the opposite opinion from new players, as they feel the komi is too high and want to play white, because he/she gets points “for free”

The easy answer for you is, yes, the komi is fair (at our level of play anyway). Your games seem to be private, so we can’t talk about what you should do differently as white, but here are some general ideas:

If you keep dying as white the problem might be that you are too greedy. As white you do not even need half of the board, because you get komi. If you keep losing by a few points without dying you are probably too passive, only answering black’s “attacks” and never counter attacking or ignoring a local move and playing elsewhere…

2 Likes

Yea, komi is pretty fair. If you’re a beginner, however, komi likely doesn’t matter at all. I’m sure two beginners could give each other several handicap stones on 19x19 and still maintain ~50% wr.