Beginner Kyu Skillsets and Areas of Focus?

Hey All-

I just started playing go-and I definitely want to improve at my skill and enjoy playing games-but I am worndering about where I could best focus my time on developing my skill. I read somewhere that its important to lose my first hundred games as fast as I can, that makes sense-as experience is always good. I also am happy to report that I have a copy of Kano Yoshinori’s elementary go problems for beginners-vol 1 and 2. I am sure I will be working through kisedo books alot. I really like learning this mental martial art-and I am wondering how to develop my functional understanding of the game properly.

Some questions.

9x9 is a good place to start-play against people of my rank or a little better? Just throw myself in to any ol game?

Are there resources that help players understand the general progression of skills to focus on for playing?

Thanks

99 is good for some, often recommended but not compulsory. You can jump on 1919 if you feel so and enjoy the real game for once.

Best is easy: play, play and play. As a beginner you need first to master your view, not your brain.

After that you can read, anything you want if you have fun reading them. And have friends to share what you discover on the way.

1 Like

Welcome!

The first fifty/hundred games proverb is a good one to start with, and the idea is to not agonize over individual moves, because when you’re starting, your abilities to read out variations aren’t really to the point where it would be useful to spend all that time. Try things out, see what works and what doesn’t, and look back at the game after it’s over to see if you can figure out why something worked of didn’t work.