Beginner Question-Guide to timings

Hi,

I am new to Go and to OGS. I’m definitely at the losing your first 50 games as quickly as possible stage! If I wanted to create a game to challenge others, is there a guide to what the various timing options mean ie Fischer, Simple, Canadian etc? I don’t quite understand them.

Also is there a guide to how results against others affect your own ranking? One that isn’t too heavily mathematical if possible.

Thanks,
Paul

1 Like

Hello, and welcome :slight_smile:

regarding the time systems, if you really wish to understand it all you can check here: Time Systems at Sensei's Library

However, for the sake of simplicity, I think I can give you a rundown:
simple - You have a certain ammount of time to do each move (you can spend 1 minute on EACH move for example). Overstep once and you lose by timeout.

Byo Yomi - (arguably the most common here) you have some main time (let’s say 15 minutes, that keeps going down whenever it is your turn). Once you run out of your main time you have certain ammount of time to make each move (usually like 30s) and several “lifes”. If you make it in time, for your next move, you will have 30s (or whatever was set) again. If you overstep this time you lose one “life” lose your last “life” (last 30s) and you lose on timeout. This one is kind of complicated to explain, but after you see it once it will be clear :smiley:

Fisher - You have some normal main time which goes down gradually whenever it is your turn. However, every time you make a move this time increases by the set ammount up to the maximum set limit. This is often used for correspondance games where a simple timing would need extremely long main time, which is hard to predict and you also might want to make sure that if your opponent stops playing it will not take 2 months for him to time out…