Beginner To SDK -- How to Improve at Any Game

Original Post Here : https://www.patreon.com/posts/37597024

So I have recently been playing other games besides Go. The games I have been playing are Real Time Strategy games like Starcraft 2 and Teamfight Tactics. In these games I really enjoy learning what it takes to improve and what step by step approaches I can make. (Like I did with the Clossi Approach.) I wanted to share with you some things that I’ve learned and how it can help beginners and even maybe help you improve at a more efficient pace.

So I have been playing Starcraft for a while now, and I just recently picked up TFT. I will focus on how I learned TFT and got to Gold level within a week. (Gold is about SDK level more or less.) Now improving at RTS games is not quite as difficult as improving at Go. But at the same time it’s not like it is an easy task. But the first thing I did was learn the rules and play a few games. This way when I started learning I would understand more about what the videos were talking about.

With SC2 and TFT I found that tutorials were great and we really need more of those in Go. If you have a tutorial, I recommend playing it. I also really liked the tutorial in Hearthstone. It let’s you play an AI and teaches you things in a step by step manner. For this instance, I think learning by playing an AI is actually a great way to understand the rules of the game before getting overwhelmed with human opponent’s.