Beginner

Hello everyone! I’m new in the world of go and i would like to know if somebody can teach me how to play it! I only know basics rules, and played 3 games. I’m french but i can also speak english ;).

1 Like

Welcome, @Sylarr!

Have you already worked through The Interactive Way To Go?

http://playgo.to/iwtg/

This should be an obligatory course for all beginners, IMO. I also did it when I was a newbie (actually when I returned to Go after decades).

5 Likes

yep i did it ^^

1 Like

Oh, great :slight_smile:

I’m overstressed currently, so I won’t offer a teaching game, but I’m sure you’ll find others who are happy to do so.

Enjoy your games here :slight_smile:

Cordially, Tom

2 Likes

Ahah no problem :wink: thank you very much ^^.

1 Like

I have sent you a teaching game offer (correspondence 9x9). I hope this suits. If not just decline, no problem.

3 Likes

I’m happy to help too - message me if need be.

3 Likes

Im still a beginner but if you want to play, hit me up, im always happy to play a game.

you might also want to check this little book out:

http://agfgo.org/downloads/LoveBaduk.pdf

its really good to get an idea of the basics of the game :slight_smile:

1 Like

I am always happy to give a teaching game, just send me a message

1 Like

Another newbie here saying HI!

I went through the First Video on the YouTube Beginner Series and started playing 9X9 on this site for a couple of hours. I have some rudimnetray understanding of Territory, Capture and Liberties. But have a lot of difficulty putting it in practice, particularly CAPTURE.

What is the best place to start?

I am not ambitious, just wish to beat my 9-year-old grandniece once in a while.

Thanks.

3 Likes

First of all: have you gone through http://playgo.to/iwtg/ like @trohde suggested? It goes through some of the basics of capture and the kinds of things that can happen in practice.