Best bot for beginner

Hey guys … I’m completely new to baduk, actually started playing 8 days ago!
So can you guys suggest me what would be a good bot on OGS site to practice with. I’ve been playing with amy-bot (25k), but I feel like I’m not getting much from it… By that I mean, it’s pretty easy to beat and I feel like Im not learning anything from my games…
Actually better to rephrase my question: I would like to play so its not super hard, yet so I learn something from it. So not sure which rank to pick?

I wonder should I start playing games with human on here…maybe that would be better option…

Sorry for stupid questions but I’m completely new to all of this …

9 Likes

There is no minimum point at which you can start playing humans, but if you can already comfortably beat amybot, do not hesitate to play ranked games with humans your level :slight_smile: if you keep doing this, you will have many games to learn from :slight_smile:

edit: welcome to OGS, and also to the forums :slight_smile: I hope you enjoy your time here on our server :heart:

4 Likes

I just sent you a challenge. :slight_smile:I’m a human at your level. :slight_smile:
(I also play amy15k some times, she’s about the right amount of challenge after a while).

5 Likes

Welcome @jurgenpine!

It’s a good question because you’re potentially saving yourself from a lot of wasted time.

Bots are not for practice.

I can whole-heartedly recommend that you play humans. There are enough of us on this server :wink:

According to an old Go proverb, you should lose your first 100 games as quickly as possible, so good luck with that and always remember: it’s just a game :grin:

6 Likes

Well thank you all for the welcome and quick good replies! :slight_smile: Your advises are more than helpful!