Bias against the handicap system at online-go?

When I started learning about go I was impressed by the simple to use system with handicap stones. Therefore I was a bit surprised that none of the standard game formats here at online-go have that part activated. Yes, you can set up your own game variation, but the default is without.

Is there a particular reason for this? It was my impression that when playing go irl, at clubs for example, it’s more common to use it than not, but perhaps that is wrong?

In deed, compared to other go servers, OGS is biased against it.

That does not mean that handicap games are not common. I used handicap games a lot in live or corresponding games.
It may be because I am usually OK to continue the game eve if the other party ranking is very wrong, say 14kyu overall, but
acted as 20 kyu with me. I am OK with that, many people do not. There is consequences obviously to accept a game like that wrong. I hope more people at OGS can accept wrongly ranked human so that the rank can be more real in the future. If nobody wants to play with wrongly ranked person, then he/she is stuck with that rank.

1 Like

I see, when you create a Custom or Computer game it’s necessary to Enable Handicaps. On the other hand you have to disable Ranked.

I think that’s a bad choice. Most people would probably chose a Ranked game with Handicap Enabled. As it is, there’s more chance of mistakenly creating a Ranked game with Handicap disabled. Suggest both should default to Off or if the default for Ranked is to be On, the default for Enable Handicaps should be On.

Any particular reason the current defaults were chosen?

Look on the bright side: at last you get a chance to find out if it’s ranked and has handicap. The blitz, live and correspondence options shockingly instantaneously post a game for which you have no idea what the exact settings are.