Buying Vintage Equipment?

From what I understand, a vintage set is about the only way to get real Kaya, shell and slate for less than 1.000 US dollars.

I generally prefer old stuff anyway for the heritage/history and eBay has quite a few vintage sets from Asia that seem cool.

Does anyone have experience buying vintage equipment for regular use? Is it such a big deal to have genuine Kaya, shell and slate vs. cheaper options like Yunzi, glass or melamine stones and Shin Kaya/spruce or bamboo boards?

At this point, I’m still a raw beginner and in no particular hurry to drop mega coin on an expensive set that I don’t deserve. Just exploring future options so that when the time comes I can buy one nice set for life.

2 Likes

It you are a beginner, I feel there is no reason to rush out and buy a kaya board or slate and shell stones. But of course, it is your decision. My advice is think about if for at least a year before you make a purchase over $500.

Everybody has their own aesthetics. I personally love the look and feel of yunzi stones, so they suit me just fine. The only thing I would steer clear of is a bamboo board. In my experience, bamboo tends to fade/warp/crack and will not last you for many years.

2 Likes

I dont know how shell and slate stones feel as ive never played with a set. I dont imagine it makes a huge difference over high quality glass stones. I would stay clear of plastic stones though, because they lack weight and feel unpleasant.

As for the board, i think that there are options equal to kaya, but cheaper. Anyway, before spending that kind of money, you should make certain, that you have ample opportunities to use the board at home, since taking it anywhere is quite a hassle.
For example: I started out with a wooden board (nowhere near the quality you are thinking of aquiring :slight_smile:), but the one i use most by far is a simple leatherette mat, since i play elsewhere more than at home.

1 Like

Yellow Mountain Imports