Can someone guide me? (Chinese fuseki)

On recommendation I recently started studying and going through the pro games to have a look and feel of the positions in fuseki, in my particular case Chinese fuseki.

But it is more difficult than I initially thought it could be. Understanding first 25-30 moves are really difficult. Can someone tell me what is happening during first 27 moves in following pro game? sgf also attached.

If someone could review only opening moves it would be nice.

Game:

Yang Dingxin - Chen Yaoye.sgf (1.9 KB)

1 Like

When people tell you to get a look and feel of the positions in a fuseki, I believe they mean it literally. So the idea is to review many games and get a feel for the shapes rather than try to get a deep understanding of a specific one. Especially when itā€™s a bit unconventional like in your example.

A couple quick notes:

• R17 is a standard invasion after the high move at Q14
  • S18 ensures that black cannot play P18 anymore
  • D18 completes a standard joseki. If black D15, then white E16
  • F3 is probing whiteā€™sresponse before stabilizing the left side
  • J4 presses the lone black stone at F3
5 Likes

Thanks for your reply. Apart from your fourth point about F3, I was unaware of everything else. So it was really useful to me.

I am also planning to read katoā€™s book on Chinese fuseki, but Pro games are really very important if I want to understand fusekis better.

I am using this as my guide to study pro games: http://gooften.net/essays/tens-guide-to-studying-professional-games/

Right now I am focusing on two things stage1 and 2, joban and transition to chuban. Is it ok to study games like that, in parts?

I have played about 500 live/blitz games on various servers and rated around 15-17 kyu. Is it too early for me to study joseki/fuseki?

1 Like

Spoiler alert, the Chinese fuseki is not so popular these days.

Start with this video: