Change to the site? Can't play higher level AI bots

Hey all, first time poster here. I’ve been playing on OGS for about 9 months and really enjoying it. Today I tried to play against a 6 kyu bot that I’ve been training against (doge bot 3) and the site would not let me play against it because my level (12 kyu) was “too low.”

I haven’t played ranked matches in a while so I’m still at 11 kyu. However, I’ve been decently competitive against the 4-8 kyu bots on the site and have recently won two matches against that bot, so I was hoping to keep training against stronger opponents to sharpen my skills.

Is this a new decision to limit players to bots within a few ranks of their current level? I’m pretty frustrated I can’t do what I was able to do just a few days before!

Welcome!

My guess would be that the person operating the bot set these limits and the message. You could ask them.
And maybe it would work if you challenged the bot with an unranked game?

3 Likes

Thanks for your reply, that does seem to be the case (I also messaged the main site and they said the same). I tried the challenge idea and unfortunately that doesn’t work either. I’m going to communicate with the bot operator and make sure I understand what’s happening. It’s a little frustrating because I’ve been playing the bot in unranked matches for weeks now!

2 Likes

I am currently playing a correspondence game with that same bot and I noticed it’s rank is very volatile. It changed from 6k to 2k and back to 7k in the space of a day! Could it be that you challenged it at a time when it’s rank was temporarily up in the 2k region?

3 Likes

To make it clear, OGS does not manage the bots here that’s the responsability of each bot owner (who gracefully let other players use it) so the same general rules of OGS as the one for a human player will apply to a bot, no more no less.
Then communicating with the bot owner is the way to go as you did for its behavior.

3 Likes