Check this infinite looking game I'm playing...! Is it a no-result?

I have never encountered this before. Is this triple ko? Is it the same as seki?

4 Likes

Im not an expert on this sort of situation by any means. But i know that tournament rules will probs say that this is a no result game because of the nature of the triple KO.

But there is also the Super KO rules that say: They forbid repeating a “state of the game”, where different variants include different factors in the state.

But what would ususally happen is one of two things… The person with the most points not including the points of the triple Ko i think, would win. If that were not the case then Lightening games have been considered, and the last game ruled a no result.

So in your case here, White would win: Black 13-- White 25.5 points. Even without prisoners, white still wins.

That is how i would rule it. But again, im going on what i know, and have managed to read in the last five mins.

I don’t know the actual answer either, but note that different rulesets have different rules for the situation! So whatever the answer is, it might depend on that!

2 Likes

It was descided that it was a White Victory.

The game was played using Japanese rules, so those are the rules that our wonderful mods had to have used. It was fascinating though.

1 Like

I adjudicated the game and will explain my decision here.

It starts with the ruleset: Japanese Rules (found here).

Atricle 7, subdivision 2, provides “In the confirmation of life and death after the game stops in Article 9, recapturing in the same ko is prohibited.”