Chess.com has more than 13 million members go.com should emulate

if go.com looked more like chess.com it would be so much better,

1 Like

Not sure what you mean? This site looks very clean and modern, and the neat look suits the game of go just fine in my opinion. Also this site has plenty of functions that you need to pay for on chess.com like doing unlimited amount of puzzles (and users can upload their own) and a great peer review system.

Im sure there are things that can be improved, but this is honestly the best site for me to play go on. I think the focus should be more on promoting his site to existing go players, as I guess other go server clients are still more densely populated…But for me as a relative beginner I find all the good games I need right here.

Just my two cents as a beginner though!

2 Likes

I am sure that it is a good idea to look at particular features of successful chess sites and see if they would improve this site, and I would be happy if you explained some of these features and asked for them.

But the argument “chess.com has millions of members, so it must be better than online-go.com” implied by the title is flawed. Among the obvious comparison of number of chess players in English-affine countries, there is also the issue that for example I am a “member” of chess.com. After starting to play go, people like you pointed out features of chess.com, so I registered there purely to have a look. Somehow, I doubt that chess.com members register at ogs purely to have a look at the site functions.

3 Likes

Maybe the original poster wasn’t criticizing this site, but was rather just expressing a desire that specifically http://go.com was a website about the game of go rather than being the website of the Walt Disney Company.

However, if that’s not what he meant, I also disagree with the idea that OGS should emulate chess.com.

I think the closest chess-community analog to OGS is http://lichess.org/

5 Likes