Chinese Opening

Hallo! I have one question: I want to learn something about the “Chinese Opening”. Please, can you recommend me something?!

2 Likes

https://www.twitch.tv/videos/516358643?t=00h00m50s Clossi played chinese during his 200 game run. You could check those videos out to see how it plays out at amateur level.

12 Likes

Oh, thanks a lot!

1 Like

Sensei’s Library (https://senseis.xmp.net/) has a lot of good pages about it.

3 Likes

There are a bunch of books too, including one in english.

1 Like

About the videos posted by snakesss above, be warned that the first three were made before AlphaGo changed the Go world. Especially the Chinese fuseki has changed considerably since the arrival of AI, so those videos might not be completely accurate.

8 Likes

May I ask you, wich opening with a concept thats easy to understand one could recommend nowadays? I completly understand, that things get concreter with the AI, cause I have some decades experience in chess :wink:
But I´m new at the fascinating game of go, and look for a concept behind some Josekis, and the Chinese Opening seems to deliver this kind of concept. Thanks a lot in advance!

2 Likes

Hello there! I’m glad you’re excited about the game of Go, but I would actually CAUTION you regarding using the Chinese Opening if you are a beginning player. Why you ask?

So - think of it this way - Black starts of with an advantage for going first. That advantage is formalized to 6.5 points by komi. If they’re being smart and following opening priorities, in the first 4 moves, Black and White will both approach the 4 available corners (and hopefully avoid a cross-cut game!)

Now Black needs to make their 5th move. They can either PRESS their advantage and approach one of White’s corners, or CASH IN their advantage and create a potential large extension with the Chinese Opening.