Cho Chikun's Encyclopedia of Life and Death - Elementary 25 kyu

Hello everybody! I would like to ask if any of you have any experience with the Cho Chikun’s Encyclopedia of Life and Death - Elementary 25 kyu tasks, and are these really 25 kyu?
I am still a beginner, but I solve other Problems 15 - 20 kyu with much more ease than the Cho Chikun tasks. From about task 18 on there are more and more difficult tasks for me.

5 Likes

No! Stay away from Chomego - He is a troll who wants to make beginners solve double-ko puzzles. Don’t believe anyone who says otherwise; they are hired by Cho for an elaborate trolling scheme. See here to see how big a troll he is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g62mOnoBTZM

6 Likes

A while ago I did the elementary and intermediate level of encyclopedia of life and death (but there was no level indication, so maybe it was not the same thing).

I remember that I found the difficulty very inconsistent. In the elementary some were beginner level and some gave me trouble when I was 8-5k. In the intermediate some felt like 15k and some gave me trouble as a 1k.

5 Likes

I think one of the problems is that assigning a tsumego or other type of go problem a rank is that you’re kind of assuming (or maybe insinuating, even unintentionally) that players of a certain level will have come across this before, which probably isn’t always the case.

Some people won’t sit down methodically to study go from the easiest of problems to the hardest in order. More than likely people just play games and learn from their mistakes possibly with instruction from a stronger player, so things can get out of order from what a book might deem logical.