Converting a winning advantage in Go

In a recent stream, Michael Chen 1p made some interesting remarks about how to play when you’re ahead. He went through a professional game in which one player got an early lead, but instead of consolidating and simplifying he seized an opportunity to press his advantage and go for more, even though it introduced more complexity. Michael said that a lot of strong players have this attitude, and he thinks it’s because the risk of blowing your lead by going for more is offset by the risk that your advantage isn’t as big as you thought.

I thought this was interesting, because it’s the opposite of how strong chess players think. If you blunder away a bishop or a knight to a professional chess player, they will take every opportunity to simplify the game by trading away pieces and consolidating their position.

My question is: which philosophy is better for amateur go players?

• As a beginner I was taught to fight for every point. I think this was good advice, because most people don’t develop positional judgement until well into the SDK’s.
  • In the SDK / low dan range, the advice is often to assess the position and play solidly if you’re ahead or aggressively if you’re behind. This doesn’t necessarily mean “avoid complications even if you an expand your lead”, but that’s often how I play in practice.

What do others think? What do you do when you have an advantage?

5 Likes

I think that strategy of tuning aggressive vs. safe play according to being ahead/behind is a simple strategy that can/should be done at all levels (if winning is the goal). What isn’t simple at all for lower levels is judging if you are ahead or behind (except in pretty extreme cases).

6 Likes

In one of the books of Ishi’s Elementary Go Series (forgot which one) this is perfectly phrased as “A rich man shouldn’t pick a quarrel.” Don’t start a fight if there is much to lose.