Correct way to use AI for Learning

I am from another generation. When I started studying Go, there were several books to learn with basic and advanced concepts that, after 20 years, seems obsolete and no longer valid.

Even if I consider some of those books masterpieces, and most of the basic concepts are still valid, it seems to me that today this learning approach is quite disappeared.

Especially after the raising of Korean way of playing and - more evident - after the introduction of AI in the game of Go, it seems that doesn’t exist anymore the concept of “vulgar move” for example. All is permitted on the board because the final objective is… to win the game.

Now the question: if I want to use effectively the AI to improve my Go skills, how should I use it?

Let me be more precise. I am a SDK (at least I should be even if not yet on OGS), and I don’t think that playing against a super-human AI network would help too much because 90% of the moves made by the AI are for me unintelligible.

Would be better - for example - to play against a weaker AI network? And even if I have a such weaker AI network available, how should I interpreter my progress considering that 99% of the time I will be defeated anyway? If I undersstood correctly how AI works, I cannot use the final score to understand if I am progressing in my Go skills. In fact AI do not care at all if it is winning by 5 or by 50 points. The important thing is the accuracy of the winning prediction. If the probability to win is higher but the final score will be closer, no matter for AI. Better the higher probability rather than the difference in the final score.

So, what is the correct method to be used? Maybe some dan player or higher SDK can provide their advise. I’ll appreciate a lot any suggestion from who is used to train himself using AI.

4 Likes

Well, no idea about “correct” way, but figured I would share what I do, and maybe you will find some inspiration. :slight_smile: