Could Someone Give me an Advise on Improving My Go Game?

Hello there,

I am new to the game of Go and to be honest have been enjoying it immensely. However, I feel like I have hit a plateau in my skill development. I am seeking advice from more experienced players on how I can improve my game.

Currently; I am struggling with understanding when to prioritize territory versus influence, as well as how to effectively manage the balance between the two. I often find myself in situations where I have either overcommitted to one aspect or neglected the other, leading to suboptimal outcomes.

Also; I have gone through this: https://forums.online-go.com/t/how-to-improve-in-sap/29977 which definitely helped me out lot.

I am also looking for tips on how to improve my reading skills. I often miss critical moves or fail to anticipate my opponentā€™s strategies, resulting in missed opportunities or losing positions.

Also; I am curious about recommended study materials or practice routines that have helped others progress in their Go skills. I am willing to dedicate time to study and practice, but I want to ensure that my efforts are focused on the right areas.

Thankyou in advance for your help and assistance.

3 Likes

People will give better advice if you post one of your games.

1 Like

Welcome on the forum elija6266,

That will always be. Great you got aware of.

Books or videos about middle game seems fitting like ā€œattack and defenseā€

You may train yourself to estimate the balance of territories (counting sure points only) vs the balance of power (who will have an advantage in the future)

Tsumego. (Solving go problems)

1 Like

Those are contradictory sentences.
Only if you are no longer new, but rank is still same, it may be correct to talk about plateau

1 Like

Without seeing a game of yours (your game history is empty) or having any indication of your level, Iā€™d say that overcommitting on some things while neglecting other things may be a cause.