Different Counting Method, different Strategy?

hi, sorry I’m still a beginner.

Does the difference in the final calculation method (Japanese and Chinese) influence our strategy when playing? I think like that because in Chinese counting the number of stones is also counted as points. This means that when filling neutral areas, points will also increase.

please help for the explanation

yes, in Chinese you do fill all dame (neutral intersections) at the end, but this usually only changes result by 1 point.

Other than that, no, not really

4 Likes

And to try and explain in more detail,

you have probably noticed, but in Go the point difference between the two players (not the actual number of points) matters. Therefore when filling neutral territory (dame) under Chinese scoring the result can differ by one point, depending on what player got the last move, until then you get 1 point for one dame, then your opponent gets one, and the difference remains constant because you both got +1.

Given reasonable moves (for example NOT filling your own territory, or NOT playing hopeless invasions while your opponent keeps passing) the result (win/loss) between the two rulesets will be the same under most cases.

6 Likes

Unless your opponent chooses to pass or play within their own territory.

– If there are 10 Dame on the board and you fill 5 and your opponent fill 5, then the dame are effectively not worth any points. Yes, each one is worth the point of the stone being played. But when you consider both players are filling Dame equally, then the scores remain even with each other.

– However, if there are an odd number of Dame, then whoever starts filling Dame first, will end up with one more point than their opponent.