Discrepancy between AlphaGo Teach and Leela Zero

I started studying a blog post shared by @mark5000 on AlphaGo josekis.

To my surprise, AlphaGo Teach (left)and Leela Zero (right) have a very different view on the large avalanche:

Any explanation on that? Am I reading it wrong?

5 Likes

That IS interesting. A couple of things:

1. LeelaZero is zero-based and AlphaGo Master is not, so it’s understandable there is a difference of opinion.

2. Try forcing those two moves for LZ individually and see if the output changes. Maybe the output would change if you followed the rabbit trail even further. I don’t know.

6 Likes

Thanks for the reply!

What’s also interesting is that the zero-based one agrees with humans.

I pushed a couple more moves and both stick to their evaluation:

3 Likes

Knowing discrepencies between Leela Zero and Pangafu’s Leela Master. This does not suprise me. LZ tends to think very lightly of value of influence. For what it’S worth I would guess AG master guess is more relevant for human players.

1 Like

I thought AlphaGo Teach was based on AlphaGo Zero rather than AlphaGo Master. Anyone got some more information on that?

1 Like

That’s what I was hoping, but the Tool uses AlphaGo Master version.

See https://www.facebook.com/aja.huang/posts/1761304863904077

Machine translation:

3 Likes

But then in my example it’s LZ that agrees with humans…

Regardless of humans, I was not expecting such a gap between the two on a local sequence. The sequence is joseki for LZ, a black failure for AlphaGo Master.

1 Like

This might be a redundant post for anyone reading this (or anyone capable of using a search engine) but here is the link for AlphaGo Teach:

I only post as I was about to ask where I could find this tool and then remembered that I am (just about) capable of working a search engine.

2 Likes

And if you follow the link in my original post you’ll find it too :slight_smile: (and much more)

1 Like