Dominating a side

Hello. I’m brand new to Go. I’ve been watching youtube videos and my question remains: If I’m white and I block off four rows from black, why doesn’t black just play inside of the “white area?” Thanks.

1 Like

Group needs at least 2 eyes to live. If black thinks he will not be able to create 2 eyes inside white territory, he will not try.

As @50_kyu said, it’s not enough to just plop a stone inside your opponent’s area. That stone itself has to grow large enough to surround space of its own, or it will be considered dead.

Further reading: http://senseis.xmp.net/?TwoEyes

Who says he wont? Btw 4 rows is quite vague terminology here.

But if you plop a stone into your opponent’s area, he will have to use up his own pieces to surround you, giving him fewer points in the end, right? Because his pieces would consume points he would have had.

maybe you could give us some example of what you really mean? I don’t think it is clear enough…

well, no, not really. (let’s say we are talking about japanese rules, to be clear.) If there is just a few opponent’s stones in your territory that do not have two eyes they are considered dead and you do not have to surround them completely. They are your captives. If you put a stone in your opponents territory and he reacts with placing a stone there as well the score stays the same. (1-1=0) He gets a point for a captive, but loses one point for territory. If however the stone you placed there has no chance of living (making two eyes) or capturing something… opponent will not react and gain a point for a captive.
. Does that answer your question?

Well, no. Then the game would be kind of pointless. The rule is that the stone is considered dead once both sides concede it can’t live. What you’re talking about is a kind of disagreement where one side thinks they can live and the other thinks they can’t. That’s very normal and it’s part of the game.